The Crown REVIEW

Synopsis:

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

My Review

The crown was a highly anticipated novel for me personally and I was so excited to begin reading it. Unfortunately for me personally it was a really disappointing end to the series. It wasn’t a horrible book, in fact I did enjoy the book but it didn’t live up to the expectations that I had.

The book for me personally was quite rushed. I was halfway through the book and I was left wondering if everything that was supposed to happen (ie: the end of the selection) would be able to fit into the other part of the book. It did fit but it was too rushed. I felt like random events happened with no explanation, random characters were filled into the space to make up for when there was drama lacking. There was little background to so many things that occurred in the last half of the book and it left me feeling quite confused.

Due to cramping so much into one small book, I couldn’t help but feel that the characters in the book had changed drastically in such a small time. You had new characters introduced with one or two sentences to show their background and who they were, leaving you quite confused on why they were in the story. Had the book been longer, the new characters could’ve been introduced better and the recurring characters could have had their character building occur at a slower and more realistic pace. I understand that following the events that occurred in the last book, certain characters such as Eadlyn would have to grow up at a quicker pace but her whole attitude changed in such a short time which felt forced.

Lastly, when an author writes an epilogue, I feel like it should be written with at least a little bit of detail otherwise I feel its pointless to have. An epilogue it meant to conclude a series so when you finish reading it, you have a sense of closure. The epilogue in this book was only a couple of paragraphs and provided no closure to the book. I would have much preferred not to have a epilogue at all because it was quite disappointing.

Overall, the book while it wasn’t a horrible book, for me personally it was a disappointing finale to the series. It was a small, fast paced book but to the point were it was rushed. While I wouldn’t read this book again I do feel like those  who like romance books would enjoy this book.

Rating 2.5/5

 

One thought on “The Crown REVIEW

Leave a Reply

